Clearing up my view on violence in general

In short, I don’t believe that violence is the proverbial answer to anything. I don’t think that there is ever a good reason for one human being to cause harm to an innocent fellow human being.

Having said that, there are times when violence is justified. I once witnessed a man assaulting a friend and proceeded to chase him down the street, fists flying. I think that is okay, because what he did was not okay. If I saw a man slap his wife/girlfriend, I can’t say I wouldn’t react in the same manner. So, while I believe violence is not a good idea, I do believe that, occasionally, in certain situations, people need to get roughed up. The same goes for physical discipline of children. Overall, I believe spanking is an unnecessary and barbaric practice. However, there are occasions when it is justified to resort to this – and not because the parent is angry, annoyed, or stressed. However, I have seen children who are not yet pubescent threaten their parents. If one of those parents decided to physically discipline their child, I would have looked the other way. Listen, if I called my mother a “bitch” as a 12 year old, I would hope that she’d have slapped me across the face, because that is not acceptable behavior.

It may not be 100% solid, and I don’t expect anyone to agree with my point of view. But there it is. Overall, violence is wrong… unless you fucking deserve it.

Leave a Reply

